I ate breakfast at four thirty in the afternoon, and now I'm back, still with a headache from a late, late night and a late start with caffeine, but with more energy.

I found some blogs, and I will add those to the links page, so check them out. There are many blogs out there to take a person out of her own head, and I do love those.

It's so cold outside, and snow is covering the ground. Dark at six, which is terribly depressing when you only want sunlight and warmth, but there it is. Unless I'm willing to move to a warmer place, I'll have to suck it up. A few years ago, I loved Winter. Loved it. Loved the cold, the snow, the snugness of being inside in my nice warm house when the dark cold stayed pouting and harmless outside my window.

That, of course, was before the bad things began happening in Winter. Now, I associate pain and depression and horror with Winter. Because my brother and his family were murdered a few days before Christmas, and my baby died a few days before Christmas a year later, I'm afraid it's going to be hard to get through this time of year for the rest of my life without feeling so awful. I will try. Florida is out of the question, though it is tempting at times. But no, I belong here. My people are here. And if I've figured out anything over the last couple of years, family is what matters. Really.

Anyway, since I've decided to dwell on good, happy thoughts today, I'll get quickly off that subject. Off we go.

Oh, one more thing. Because of the stress, maybe, or a combination of the stress and my terrible diet filled with way too many sweets, I have developed a terrible...thing on my right cheek. Never before have I had zits. Well, this one is like the mother of all zits. I don't even know if it could really be considered a pimple, as it too big and painful for a mere pimple, surely. And last night, I realized on the left side of my face, somewhere between my upper lip and nose, another one is looming. I can't leave the house for fear of frightening small children. That's okay. It's too frigid out there anyway.

Tonight I'll settle in with a movie and pumpkin seeds, and not think about tomorrow. Tomorrow I really, truly have to buckle down and either finish a book or finish edits on the one under contract. I so need to do that. I need to something else, too, but I haven't figured out what that is yet.



Leave a Reply.